Day 4 – July 21, 2019

Marker hand lettering on graph paper, the background is alternating solid gray and scribbled blue boxes. The foreground says "It is very sad here, we all want to leave" 'sad" is in a lighter cloud with no background.

“While I still had a fever, I was transported here to Clint station. I have been at the Clint station for about 17 days. In the place I am, there have been about 70 boys in my cell, but now there are fewer boys, perhaps about 40 boys. They are mostly around 11 to 17 years old but there are younger kids, too. The 3-year-old had a brother with him. The 4-year-old came to the United States with an uncle but they separated him so he has no one here. It is very sad here. We all want to leave.”

– L.G.L.L., 12-year-old, from Guatemala, Clint Border Patrol station

Via the El Paso Times

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started