Day 134 – November 29, 2019

“My client in MPP who expressed a fear of return to Mexico – who I described above — was kidnapped and trafficked through Mexico based on her race, nationality, and membership in a particular social group. The Mexican government cannot or will not protect her. Yet she did not pass her non-refoulement interview, and because the government denied my participation in the interview, I will never know why. They might have applied the wrong standard or failed to elicit relevant testimony. If I had been present, I could have helped ensure an accurate result. Every moment of every day, my client fears for her life. Horrifically, my client was once again victimized and assaulted last week after her September 23, 2019 non-refoulement interview and October 3, 2019 master calendar hearing and while awaiting an upcoming hearing.”

-Siobhan Marie Waldron, Attorney

– -Via the ACLU San Diego. (Exhibit 14, Pg. 176)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started